Ok

It’s one of those peaceful lazy days here in Roberts Creek, my lady is back in our hometown for a visit so it’s just Elliot and myself. And it’s Sunday, our day off, it’s a little gray and there is still a bit of cool crispness in the air, although I’m excited all the trees and shrubs are showing their signs that warmer days are soon to come.

The last week has been good to me, I have been able to see my pile of meticulously gone over parts assembled, to form the bones of my cabinet.

I was happy to see the contrast in the Euro cherry and the port orford cedar, I think  they compliment each other quite nice.

So next I was finally able to pull those doors out that have been waiting patiently under my bench for a little attention. Onto to fitting the doors. It is so nice to work with a veneered piece and not have to worry as much about the future movement in the wood, as the seasons will affect how tightly I can fit my doors now. Just a few plane strokes off a time and I was able to get the doors to slide in with only a papers thickness between the carcass and the doors. It just looks clean that way… I feel, and I like that;)

Now that I have the two front doors and the side frame and panel fit to about 99% I moved on to getting my back panel ready. Again, it was the some process here as with the doors. Poplar substrate, crossbanding, then final veneers. You can also get a good Idea at how thick the veneers are we work with in the pic below, it leaves us with an ample amount of room to hand plane the surfaces…Don’t even think about that with commercial veneer!   Oh that back post is a bit darker because it’s the onlypart that got waxed before the glue-up.

Fitting the back panel takes a bit of time, a light shaving with the block plane here and there to get a seemless fit all around. You can see above that it’s just starting to go in. We plane just a tiny bit of bevel in towards the cabinet so as it slides in it gets tighter and tighter…but not too tight!

You know, it makes me feel ok inside when I know the same level of care is put into the parts of the piece that are rarely seen as in the parts that are seen daily. So whenever you wanna splurge and buy that fine piece of heirloom  furniture, check the back and places like the hinges to see if they were installed with care, or maybe the bottom of a drawer. Chances are if the maker spent as much time on those pieces as he did the rest, you got yourself something the different, something the maker was really proud of.

Now it’s onto the stand, I’ll start a mock up on Monday. After I finish the stand, I saved my favorite thing for last( which it would be the last thing done anyway) which are the bank of drawers behind the right door. 

Good day

5 Comments on “Ok”

  1. JP says:

    Seamless and clean.
    Incredible creation.

  2. Jonathan says:

    Inspired and encouraged, as usual!

  3. Nicholas says:

    Looking really good sir. Yay stand!!!
    So how many weeks left? heh

    • Kylle says:

      looks like four weeks from today! I’ll be working on the stand this week and finish off with that bank of drawers. Oh, the shedua would not work for a stand, it was straight quarter sawn and only 8/4 thick. I wasn’t able to get the rift out of that for the legs. So today I decided on the afromosia for the stand, it lookes real nice together..
      How are things going over there?


Leave a Reply

