Moving on..

Ok, school is over and what a once in a lifetime experience it was. So thankful to Robert and his family and the amazing year Haley and I had. Good times! The last two weeks were spent hurrying to get our pieces done for the show, packing our house for the move, and figuring out where to even go!

 I’ll pick up on the day of the show.

I just had a couple finishing touches to do with the cabinet. I started the morning by milling the small strips of cherry which would be fitted to hold the glass in. Small holes are drilled just a bit undersized for the brass pins so they can be tapped or just pressed into place. No glue since if the glass is ever broken it can be easily replaced without damaging the frame.  Since the frame and side door are slightly curved, I hit the bandsaw first to get the rough shape. Then just moved to the spokeshave to shape the curve and get my final surface.

Not the best way to use a spokeshave but I was in a hurry and the vice just seemed like it would take too long:). And the cherry works so well that it was fine like this. Here’s the ones for the front, just three since the right side of the glass is accepted into a groove in the post.

The rest of the morning was spent installing, and here’s the finished product!

That pretty much sums up things. . The show was also super fun, it was nice to meet some of the alumni from the past years and hear how they are working now. A few of them even brought some of their work to put in the show. The following week was spent making crates for our projects, cleaning the place from top to bottom and finally flattening our benches for the next years class. It was then time to say goodbye to all our new friends.

These our my classmates that I already miss, I pray that they all find the path that allows them to use their talents.

I’ll wait to post pictures of the work until we get the good ones back from the photographer!

It was a good year.


4 Comments on “Moving on..”

  1. Nicholas says:

    Lovely. My classmates still often come to mind and I miss them and my time at IP dearly.
    Great work and good luck to you, and your classmates. Let me know if you’re ever coming through Minneapolis! I’ll be sure to tell you if I’m ever through anywhere near you (where ever that may be).

    Be well!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Beautiful! We’d love to see some more “show-off” pictures of the cabinet! I also love seeing you in the pictures working intently – I’m sure we have Haley to thank for that. 🙂 Can’t wait to see your professional website!

    Welcome back to the states!

    • Kylle says:

      Yeah, Haley is to thank for the pics. And I look forward to seeing that website someday soon as well, but I have a bit more work to do before that can happen:)


Leave a comment