meet box

Hey people, still living one day at a time as we are not sure where we are gonna be settling. But, in between working for the guys I rent shop space from, I wanted to do a small project to keep my hand skills moving along,  just get back in the swing of things. Robert would always say, “do the best you can with the materials you have”. So lacking an abundance of the “good stuff” I did have a small piece of Ash that I was able to bring back from school. I did what I could, with what I had… just a small, simple, straight box, hand-cut joinery, and planed surfaces.

After getting going with it I thought it would be fun to put it on a small stand. My classmate before I left gave my wife a scrap piece of teak (that was perfectly rifts sawn by the way) to make some earings with. So I got her permission, and cut that little guy up into a stand.

I was going to just set the box on two stretchers underneath the box, but that wasn’t going to work. I decided to use some brass stock and make TINY brass plates to fasten it to the stand. It was fun, I don’t know if you can tell from the pics but the box is pretty small ..about 9x6x4.

Good day

7 Comments on “meet box”

  1. Aimee says:

    Beautiful work, Uncle Kylle. I’m always impressed and can’t wait to see this stuff in person!

  2. Raul Favela says:

    Right on man, the box looks really nice Kylle. That ash surely had some interesting graphics. Yes, I guess it’s quite a challenge to keep the mind busy while trying to settle. But I guess that needs to happen.

    Keep on building and enjoying what we all do.

    Cheers my friend!

    Raul de Mexico.

  3. Brandi says:

    I LOVE IT!!!! do you really put meat in it?
    or money:)
    miss you guys!

  4. Very nice and cute work Kylle! I bet this box took you like half the time the first one did!?
    Ha those are some TINY brackets!
    Keep up the fight!
    – NN

    • Kylle says:

      It did go faster, I beleive about 35 hours of work. That little stand took longer than I though, the shop I’m in has no mortiser so I had to do those tiny mortises by hand. It was good though.
      Love the work on the walnut desk as well, good to see people sticking with what they were taught!
      Cheers Nick,
      Kylle


Leave a Reply

